Kentucky Phone Number Lookup

Kentucky Area Codes and Their Locations

Kentuckians need to protect themselves against different types of phone scams. One way to do that is recognizing area codes assigned to different parts of the state. This knowledge will help them immediately recognize out-of-state callers and scam callers pretending to be locals. It also possible to identify unknown callers by running their numbers through reverse phone lookup search engines.

The table below lists the area codes currently active in Kentucky:

270 - Location
364 - Location
502 - Location
606 - Location
859 - Location

Who Controls Kentucky Area Codes?

Kentucky’s Public Service Commission (PSC) regulates services and rates for telephone and wireless service providers. It also handles area code management and allocation. The PSC is responsible for area code administration including overlay plans. Overlay plans are used to introduce new area codes.

Where is Area Code 270?

Area code 270 serves both western and south-central Kentucky. It was initially split from area code 502 and then overlaid by 364. The overlay plans were announced in 2007 with the introduction of area code 364 which was implemented in August 2013. Some of the major cities covered by area code 270 are Bowling Green, Hopkinsville, Henderson, Murray, Paducah, Madisonville, Elizabethtown and Owensboro.

Where is Area Code 364?

Area code 364 is an overlay to area code 270. It covers western Kentucky. In August 2013, the PSC introduced area code 364. Major cities served by 364 are Owensboro, Bowling Green and Hopkinsville.

Where is Area Code 502?

Area code 502 is one of the original area codes created in 1947 when it served the entire state of Kentucky until 1999. After 1999, the western half of the state split off as area code 606, and the western half split off as area code 270. Area code 502 currently serves north-central Kentucky including the following counties: Carroll, Henry, Franklin, Jefferson, Anderson, Nelson, Bullitt, Shelby, Owen, Oldham, Trimble Scott, Spencer and parts of Meade and Hardin. Kentucky cities served by area code 502 include: Muldraugh, Louisville, Shelbyville, Frankfort, Bardstown and Georgetown.

Where is Area Code 606?

Area code 606 covers eastern Kentucky especially the Eastern Coalfield region. It was created in 1954 as a split from area code 502. Cities and towns in the area code include: London, Maysville, Pikeville, Somerset, Middlesboro, Morehead, Hazard, Ashland, Paintsville and Corbin. The area code runs along the entire length of the Kentucky border with Virginia and West Virginia.

Where is Area Code 859?

Area code 859 was split from area code 606 in 1999. It serves northern Kentucky, especially the Lexington area, and the central portion of the Commonwealth of Kentucky. The counties served by the area code include: Nicholas, Jessamine, Mercer, Washington, Madison, Harrison, Boyle, Garrard, Clark, Pendleton, Montgomery, Bourbon, Woodford, Nicholas, Kenton, Gallatin, Campbell, and Boone.